The Honourable Peter Bethlenfalvy Minister of Finance c/o Budget Secretariat Frost Building North, 3rd Floor 95 Grosvenor Street Toronto, Ontario M7A 1Z1

Dear Minister Bethlenfalvy,

#### Re: 2024 Budget consultations

Thank you for the opportunity to provide input into the 2024 Budget. On behalf of the 63 undersigned organizations, we respectfully request that the Government of Ontario invest \$100 million per year over four years in the establishment of new protected and conserved areas, as recommended by the government-appointed Protected Areas Working Group.

As you are aware, a healthy environment is key to enjoying a good quality of life in Ontario. It is also key to a healthy economy and avoiding the astronomical costs of flooding, pollution and other forms of environmental degradation. In maintaining a healthy environment, protected areas are effective nature-based solutions to climate change and biodiversity loss that enhance our resilience and conserve the plants, animals and ecosystems that sustain us.

In 2021, the Protected Areas Working Group appointed by the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks provided strong recommendations in its report *A New Approach: Advancing Protected and Conserved Areas in Ontario.* Their recommendations below align with the recently updated *Ontario Biodiversity Strategy* and should be addressed in the 2024 Budget.

### Launch a Wild Ontario Accelerator Fund

- Establish a new fund of \$100 million per year over four years to identify innovative and cooperative approaches to new protected and conserved areas.
- A made-in-Ontario fund could leverage matching resources from the federal government, as recently occurred through the \$1 billion tripartite framework agreement between the governments of Canada and British Columbia and the First Nations Leadership Council.

#### Secure Near-term Opportunities for New Protected and Conserved Areas

 Support First Nations that are interested in Indigenous Protected and Conserved Areas.

- Complete protection for sites identified through Ontario's Living Legacy and acquired lands by providing MECP with the staff resources required to undertake this work.
- Establish a team of staff with a suitable project budget to work with conservation partners – including Indigenous communities, the forestry and mining industries, and environmental groups – to explore opportunities for additional protections for Enhanced Management Areas and Provincially Significant Wetlands that are ecologically connected to existing protected and conserved areas.

#### Develop a new Made-in-Ontario Provincial Protected and Conserved Areas Strategy

- Establish a strong intra-ministerial project team of negotiators, planners, ecologists and analysts to undertake a new, modern, target-based land use planning exercise that is built on nation-to-nation dialogue and respect for Indigenous rights.
- Appoint a Provincial Protected and Conserved Areas Facilitator to support the work of the team.

We are confident that with the right investments Ontario can once again be a leader in establishing protected areas, with long-term benefits for all people who call Ontario home. We ask you to use this budget as an opportunity to create a positive, lasting conservation legacy.

Yours sincerely,

Caroline Schultz
Executive Director
Ontario Nature



Katie Krelove
Ontario Campaigner
Wilderness Committee



Nasha Choudhury
Executive Director
Algonquin to Adirondacks
Collaborative



Dr. Peter Quinby
Chair
Ancient Forest Exploration &
Research











Mary Lou Knechtel President **Brant Land Trust** 



Mary Ann Hodge Co-Founder Climate Action London



Raymond Metcalfe Chair Four Seasons Conservancy



Four Seasons Conservancy

Susan Moore President Friends of Salmon River



Joan Faux Lead Brantford Brant We Care



Paul Berger Meetings' Chair CUSP - Citizens United for a Sustainable Planet



Kyra Howes Treasurer Friends of Minesing Wetlands



Janet Stavinga President Friends of Stittsville Wetlands



Amy Schnurr Executive Director BurlingtonGreen **Environmental Association** 



Cathy Lapain Treasurer **Essex County Field** Naturalists' Club



Phyllis Cacciotti Secretary Friends of Misery Bay



Lorraine Green Co-chair Grandmothers Act to Save the Planet (GASP)



Don Scallen
Past President
Halton/North Peel Naturalist
Club



Gord McNulty
Ontario Nature
Representative
Hamilton Naturalists' Club



Robin Harmer Chair Headwaters Nature



Richard Heron
President
Huntsville Nature Club



Christine Roberts
President
Huron Fringe Field
Naturalists



Sheila Fleming
Co-President
Ingersoll District Nature Club



Miranda Virtanen
Executive Director
Junction Creek Stewardship
Committee





Comité d'intendance du ruisseau Junction

Nancy Vidler
Chair
Lambton Shores Phragmites
Community Group



Marilyn Murray
Chair
Lennox and Addington
Stewardship Council



## Phyllis Cacciotti President Manitoulin Nature Club



Donald Taves

President

Nature London

Nature London

President

# Robert Codd President Midland-Penetanguishene Field Naturalists



Joyce Sankey Conservation Director Niagara Falls Nature Club



Heather Gray Toner Board Member

MTM Conservation

Linda Lackey Communications Team Nith Valley EcoBoosters



Lissa Dwyer Secretary Oak Ridges Trail Association



James Kamstra Rhonda Kirby President North Durham Nature North Shore Environmental Resource Advocates Inc.



Association



Alexander (Sandy) Donald Director Ontario Wildlife Rescue



Martin Straathof Executive Director **Ontario Farmland Trust** 



Linda Heron Chair Ontario Rivers Alliance



Denis Paccagnella President Orillia Naturalists' Club



Glenda Clayton

**President** 

Parry Sound Nature

Tom Manley President Otter Valley Naturalists



Susan Paradisis President Peterborough Field **Naturalists** 



Gerry Jenkison President

Prince Edward County Field

**Naturalists** 

Parry Sound Nature Club



Gail Speirs-White Board member Rescue Lake Simcoe Coalition





Elizabeth Churcher Corresponding Secretary Quinte Field Naturalist



Michael Kent Chair Sarnia Environmental **Advisory Committee** 

Istafa Sufi Senior Educator rare Charitable Research Reserve

Brendan Mulroy President

Owen Sound Field Naturalists

Carolyn King

President

Sound Field Naturalists



Ron Prickett President Sault Ste. Marie Naturalists of Michigan and Ontario



Paul Harpley
President
South Lake Simcoe
Naturalists



Ann Griffin
President
Stratford Field Naturalists

John Davis

Executive Director

The Rewilding Institute

Mark Cranford
President
South Peel Naturalists' Club



Bill Roesel
President
The Friends of Ojibway
Prairie



Otto Peter President Thickson's Woods Land Trust



Gloria Marsh
Executive Director
York Region Environmental
Alliance



Helen Brenner
Co-Lead
Stop Sprawl Durham



Bryan Smith
Chair
The Oxford Coalition for
Social Justice



Zunaid Khan President Toronto Field Naturalists



Richard Berry
President
York Simcoe Nature Club





Zewilding Institute



## Cc:

Ernie Hardeman, Chair, Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs Catherine Fife, Vice-Chair, Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs Vanessa Kattar, Clerk, Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs